On Jurassic World

I’m going to get one thing out of the way right now: I LOVE JURASSIC WORLD. I’ve literally seen it in theaters three times and I’m probably going again before it’s out. “But T,” you may be saying, “why do you love it so much?”

Oh, thank you for asking, kind, starving friend of mine. I would be happy to enlighten you.

For starters, Jurassic Park 3 and Star Wars were the first two movies I ever remember seeing in theaters. I’m not sure if there were any before that and there were definitely some after that, but those made a huge impression on me. I went to see Jurassic Park 3 in theaters in 2001. Sorry to age myself here, but I was five. That might not be too surprising but think about this: I remember that I had seen Jurassic Park many, many times before going. I probably started watching it when I was three. I am in college now, and studying to be an anthropologist – and possibly, an archaeologist.

We may not realize it, but influences from our early lives shape who we become. Without Jurassic Park, would I have gone through my dinosaur phase? Would I have jumped from paleontology to archaeology, from the Jurassic dinosaurs to the Egyptian mummies? Jurassic Park sparked my love of dinosaurs even before Land Before Time or Dinosaur or Walking with Dinosaurs (I was also crazy about the Discovery Channel).

The point is, Jurassic Park was one of my favorite movies as a child and influenced what I’m going to school for. I admit that when I heard Jurassic World was coming out, I ignored it. I didn’t watch any previews and I didn’t get excited about seeing it. When I went, it was because my aunt wanted to. I think a part of me had forgotten about the magic, or didn’t want to recreate it.

But then I watched it. I started feeling an inkling of hope when the dinosaurs were revealed. I appreciated the focus on consumerism in today’s society in the movie and then OH MY GOSH THE RAPTOR SQUAD WAS SO COOL. Okay, composure recovered. But really. Can I have a velociraptor?

Jurassic Park will always hold a special place in my heart. It is for that reason that I’m happy to say that Jurassic World most certainly did it justice.

Leave a Reply

