On Haunted Dorms

Do you believe in ghosts? This is a serious question. I do. It’s not that I’ve specifically had any poltergeist moments.

These last few weeks have been extremely strange in the suite. I moved in early for band and for a few days, I was the only person living in the building.

So the suite is set up in such a way that the elevator deposits people straight into the living space. There is a long hallway that stretches down the middle, with rooms on the side opposite the elevator. There are living rooms at both ends. The end farthest from me also has a kitchen and a dining room space. All in all, it is a decently nice place to live.

The lights in the actual rooms are mostly button lights. The lights in the hallway, though, are motion sensor. For future reference, my closet light is a button light and my room light is a switch. The button lights are not sensitive at all. In fact, they are very annoying and difficult to turn on and off.

As I was moving in, I felt uncomfortable. You know that feeling you get when you go to bed after watching a scary movie? Like something is off? It is a lot like that when I’m up there. I feel like my heart rate is faster and every noise makes me jump.

Partially because of my discomfort, I asked my friend to stay with me the first night. She didn’t say anything, but I could tell that she felt it too. We spent most of the evening in my room with the door locked and bolted. There was always music on, because neither of us could handle the sounds that we heard in the silence, specifically footsteps.

We went to sleep around midnight. My bed is on the far side of the room, closer to the windows. I have a thing about sleeping facing a wall or windows, so that’s the way I was facing, with my back to the room.

It was about ten minutes later when E said, “T, the closet light just turned on.”

We sat there for a moment. Obviously, neither of us had gotten up to turn it on. Eventually, E turned it off and we settled back to sleep. Throughout the night, the motion detecting lights in the hallway went on and off and the light shone under my door.

I promise you, we were alone in the building.

So essentially, I was freaked out enough. I went to band camp at a different location and stayed there for four or five days. When I came back, I was resigned to the fact that it was all in my head.

I stayed in the room without a roommate for a few days. There were instances when I knew that I left the bathroom door shut and it was open when I came in, or times when the closet light turned on and off. I attributed the door to a draft and figured the light was on a timer, even though it always went on and off at a different time.

One of my friends was supposed to live off campus but last minute became my roommate. The first night we were staying in our room together, we slept on the floor because our beds were covered with clothes from moving. I was at a party before coming home so I wasn’t entirely in my regular state of mind.

We were settled down to go to sleep when the closet light turned on. My friend asked me about it. I told her I thought it was on a timer, even though I knew it definitely wasn’t. She accepted this explanation. Then, intoxicated J that I was, I told her that I thought that the suite was haunted.

“Why?” she asked.

“I can’t talk about it here,” I answered. And this is the thing that I don’t remember saying, that she swears I said – “She’ll hear me. She’ll hear me if I talk about it here.”

I honestly have no recollection of telling her that. It’s true that I don’t like to talk about it in the suite, just because things happen with I do. The lights flicker more. The washing machine goes crazy. Cold spots appear.

I don’t know at this point. I’m obviously going to keep living there. It’s nothing that I can’t deal with. Have any of you felt you were living in a haunted area? Does it sound like we have a ghost on our hands?

Leave a Reply

