On Dropping Classes

It is 12:41 A.M. and I have just done the unthinkable.

Never before have I dropped a class because it was too hard. Never. Until today, that is. That’s right – I’ve admitted defeat. German Writing has gotten the best of me.

So if you haven’t realized yet, I’m a bit of an ambitious freak. I currently have two majors with pre-med dangling on the side, with a potential for a minor/certificate in German. College is hard. In addition to classes I’m in a sorority, a choir, and the band. All of them are in peak season at the moment. I’m not saying that I’m letting my extra-curriculars get the best of me, but there is just a lot going on right now.

That being said, my German professor basically assumed fluency. I’m not fluent in German. I was in the class with my Big. Just an hour ago, we were looking at the syllabus and realized that we still had two hours of homework left and we forgot to turn in an essay today.

Some days are not good days.

We had a long discussion about it. Both of us are not at the level that our professor expects us to be at, and we barely understand anything from the class. The class is graded on participation and quality of written assignments. Writing is my weakest area in German.

Both of us are English majors and there happened to be a Lit class the same time that would fit a requirement. We switched.

I feel slightly guilty for ‘giving up’, but I honestly could not let my GPA suffer right now. It would be far too much effort for me to take that class this semester, especially since I’m currently in three sciences with labs.

This is more of a message to the college students out there: Don’t feel awful if a class is too much. C’s may get degrees, but pride makes you cry. At the end of the day, only you can judge what you are capable of. I couldn’t pretend to be great at German anymore. Does this mean I won’t get my minor? No! I’ll just find a way to do it that works better for me. This is the time to focus on what you love, not scrape by in something that you can sometimes do. I’d much prefer to study German literature or film, because I have the language capacity to understand what other people are trying to say. I’ll save the German writing for the people that can actually do it.

Leave a Reply

