On Writing Poetry

I really don’t consider myself to be a poet. At all. I write poetry, but I think that poets are people that actually COMMIT to writing poetry. I feel like I write poetry because I have to write something to get out my feelings. I have a lot of feelings – just ask my roommates. They make fun of me for it all the time.

Anyways. I think that poetry is an art that I’m never going to fully master. I am not elegant when I write. Most of the time, it feels like I’m just slapping words on a page and seeing what sticks. A part of me thinks that there’s nothing wrong with that, but I feel like it would not be right to call myself a poet, out of respect for those who actually dedicate hours and hours to crafting a single stanza. I feel the same way about defining the fact that I’m an aspiring writer. I just don’t think I’ve paid enough dues to apply the label to myself yet.

Of course, I could just be romanticizing something which does not need to be romanticized. Then again, I’m a hopeless romantic, so you should expect nothing less from me.

Leave a Reply

