On Dunkin’ Donuts

I love Dunkin’ Donuts for a few reasons. First, the iced coffee is 10/10 (and cheap). Second, I can sit there for seven hours and they don’t kick me out. You may think I’m joking. I’m not. My friends have started referring to Dunkin’ as my office just because of the amount of time that I spend there.

I’m not an ‘aesthetic writer’ – as in I don’t sit in elegant coffee shops with notebooks and contemplate the universe. Yes, that’s a stereotype. But really, I think a lot of people actually believe that stereotype. I like to think I’m a nitty-gritty writer. I write anywhere, whenever I can get time. And a lot of time, that just happens to be Dunkin’. It’s nice to have one specific place carved out where I can go for a few hours and force myself to be productive. It’s like keeping a sacred place. When I go there, I know I’m going for a long time, and I’m not going to mess around. I’m going to write. It helps that there isn’t good wifi.

I understand that this is a bit of a contradictory post. My main piece of advice here is to find somewhere that you’re very comfortable spending a few hours, but not somewhere where you feel pressured to conform to some sort of idea in order to write. Don’t force yourself to be a perfect writer. I find that my best writing happens when I’m comfortable. Find a place where you won’t get distracted and it doesn’t feel to stiff. Once you find that happy writing comfort zone in a physical space, it will be easier to replicate that mindset in other places.

Leave a Reply

