On the End of All Things

Well, it’s been a bit of a whirlwind semester. I’ve had a pretty okay time with school, even though I’m extremely distracted by the fact that I’m also working towards getting a book published. One thing that I’ve noticed about the end of my college career is that it feels a bit like classes are getting in the way of me trying to do my real job (reading, editing, etc.). I was looking forward to finally being able to graduate. So I’m finishing up a semester early, in December, which gives me a good chunk of time to focus on writing before I go to grad school. I thought that I’d come to terms with all of this and moving on with my life. Yesterday, I applied for graduation.

I wasn’t expecting it to be as bittersweet as it was. I’m beyond excited to get a degree – I mean, I put all the work in, and now I’ll be getting the proof of how much I’ve done here. At the same time, it’s a huge step. I want to go to grad school in the U.K. so this begins the countdown for my time in the U.S. as it stands.

I’m at this point in my life where I have this cluttered jumble of everything that I’ve done and everything I want to do and I’m trying to put it all together to move on with the rest of my life. Like I have part of a degree, an unpublished book, less than a handful of published work, a couple of internships, and some editing experience. How do I put that together into a career? Don’t worry, I’m figuring it out. This is just a realistic check in everything else that’s happening outside of the querying process.

Thanks for reading. I hope this isn’t horribly depressing – I do have plans! Finals are coming up and I’m stressed. Nice little down to earth reminder that I’m a college student.

Leave a Reply

