On New Projects

Once you’ve been working on something for as long as I have (8 years, anyone?) it gets to the point that it feels like the only thing you’ll ever be able to write. I’ve started a few other projects over the years and abandoned them, always coming back to that one thing. It got to the point where I was pretty sure that that was the only story I had in me, which is a shitty conundrum for someone who wants to be a writer.

My sister is graduating in April. For a gift, I wanted to write something for her. Not something that’s non-fiction or tells everything that is to tell about our relationship or anything, just something that echoes how much she means to me but also tells a cool story (spoiler alert: it’s about mermaids). It didn’t start out as a novel but it took on a mind of its own.

I’ve been working on it for about a month and I have a rough draft completed that I’m editing. It has been such a refreshing experience to just sit down and write without any previous drafts or notions of how the plot should go. With my other book, I got myself into this spot where I wasn’t even sure if I liked writing anymore because I was so tired of the technical, business side of things. Now, it’s just like words are flowing and things are happening and it’s getting me back to the root of why I wanted to be a writer in the first place. It’s definitely been a learning experience.

For one, it’s restored my confidence in myself. I’m not a one-trick-pony, believe it or not. I do have the ability to come up with a new story and watch it blossom across a page. So if there are any other writers out there who are completely and utterly demoralized and stuck: try something new. It doesn’t have to be a novel. Write a short story or a poem. Experiment with voice. But write something, just to remind yourself that there’s more than this.

Leave a Reply

