On Reading

Hi yes hello. If you’ve been following along with my ramblings over the last few weeks, then you have probably discovered that I am stressed out by the querying process. No surprise there. In the midst of all of this anxiety with the production side, I feel like I’ve lost sight of the reason I’m doing this in the first place – I really really really love books. A lot. I grew up in a family of readers. According to my parents, I learned to read before I was two. Some of my earliest memories involve books. Since I’ve been spending so much time reading and stressing, I have completely abandoned reading.

It’s time to change that.

I have the feeling that every issue I’m having with my writing can be solved by reading more books and learning from those who have already been published. “Learning from those who have been published” is a bit of a shitty way to put it. I want to learn from the people who tell the best stories, the people who take words and turn them into beautiful worlds and glimmering landscapes, the people who have made my heart flutter and imagination explode over the last twenty-one years.

I’m going back to my roots, so to speak. I have created a challenge for myself. I love books and I have this habit of buying a lot of them at once, and not reading them for a long time. Classes end on April 21st for me. Starting on April 22nd and going until the first day of next semester, I am going to read 100 books. I’ll call it my 100 Book Summer. I just went through my room at college – not even my room at home, where a lot more books live – and I have 55 unread that I’ve collected over the last year or so.  They are books of poetry and fiction and non-fiction, classic and contemporary. I feel like this will be a good way to restore my shattered sanity. I’ll still be writing and editing too, of course, because I don’t know how to function when I’m not actively creating.

I’ll try to post a weekly update or so on how I’m doing but we all know that I’m bad at consistency. Comment if you have any recommendations!

Leave a Reply

