On My 100 Book Summer: Week 1

I haven’t been able to read very much during the school year, but I’ve still managed to collect a ton of books. Right now, there are 55 books in my room at school that I haven’t read, which is an insane number. I’m trying to tackle those and 45 more. Reading is an important part of writing, so I’m getting back down to the basics. I’m trying to do a blend of poetry, fiction, and some non-fiction. I’m also reading a lot of YA that came out over the last few years, just to see what the market has been up to. This is what I read during Week 1 (and a few days before)!

  • Don’t Cry by Mary Gaitskill
  • The Divine Salt by Peter Blair
  • Not That Kind of Girl by Siobhan Vivian
  • The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater
  • The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater
  • Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater
  • The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater

My favorite from this round was definitely The Raven Cycle. The writing is beautiful and the characters are excellent. I have some more extensive thoughts on the structure of the series but I’m not going to bore you will all of the details. I’m always more drawn to characters than plot, and this series had both. Plus, it’s being made into a TV show, which will be interesting. I can’t wait to see what happens with that. I also really enjoyed Not That Kind of Girl. I think the voice was different than a lot of other YA contemp stories. The Divine Salt is a poetry collection, and it was poignant and well-written. This week, I’m taking on an Irish novel, more YA, and poetry!

Leave a Reply

