On Thoughts, Conferences, and Clothing

This is going to be one of those posts where I just ramble, so I’m sorry if you came here hoping to find something enlightening.

I’m attending my first ever writing conference this weekend and I’m excited/terrified/anxious/pumped for it. I’m pitching to an agent and an editor while I’m there, which honestly sounds kind of terrifying. It’s my first time pitching in person to someone that I don’t know so that’ll be fun. I’m reading so many articles and watching videos about how to do it right and I’m just a bundle of nerves.

I also ordered my first round of business cards because I’m apparently a real adult now and that’s something that I should have. Fingers crossed that those get here on time…

It’s too bad that there’s not a guidebook that tells you how to dress for these things, either. My closet is separated into two classifications: hippy-manic-artist and very-super-duper-businessy. There’s no in-between, which is what I need for the conference. I had to go shopping for new stuff and every time I bought something, I just had to keep whispering to myself, “It’s fine. It’s okay. You’re investing in your future.” Here’s hoping that it all pays off.

Well, those are my ranty thoughts for the day. Thank you for joining.

Leave a Reply

