On 5 Things I’m Obsessed With This Summer

I don’t know about you guys, but summer absolutely flew by for me. I start school again in a couple of weeks, which is even scarier since it’s my last semester of college (eek!). It’s been a good summer of writing, working, and developing for a few reasons. It’s the first extended period of time that I’ve lived by myself and worked the entire time, so that’s fun. Over the last few months, I’ve discovered quite a few random things that I can’t live without.

  1. Absolute Write forums

Guys. GUYS. If you’re a writer, I 100/10 recommend checking out this forum. I love the NaNoWriMo community, but that’s only super active during the fall. This forum is a community for writers. Everyone that I’ve talked to on it is kind and respectful. I’ve found a handful of beta readers through the forum as well, and I’ve beta read for over a dozen users there. It’s just an incredible community of talented writers and there is so much good advice available.

2. The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater

Yeah, this one isn’t surprising at all. I’ve talked about it multiple times on here. If you haven’t read these books, you have to. The series follows a group of wealthy, troubled Southern boys and a feisty teenage girl on their quest to discover a Welsh king. That’s a horrible summary, tbh. I took a few folktale classes throughout my college career and I’ve heard more than enough “sleeping giant” tales, as they’re called, so this was an incredibly fresh take on old legends.

3. Glossier Boy Brow

I’m busy and I don’t have time/energy to put on makeup in the morning. This is a great, low-cost product that makes me feel instantly put-together. I don’t know about you, but I like having nice eyebrows that don’t look overdone. This is usually the only product I use and I always feel so much better.

4. Penny Dreadful

If you love Victorian gothic literature, you’re going to love this series. It ties together Frankenstein, The Picture of Dorian Gray, Strange Case of  Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde, and Dracula. It’s gritty and dark and beautifully done. The show is only three seasons, so it shouldn’t take longer than a few weeks to finish if you’re binge watching. It’s on Netflix, and I think it’s also available on Showtime.

5. To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before

We need to talk about Jenny Han. Actually, I’ve already talked a lot about Jenny Han, but we still have to. They’re making TATBILB into a movie, and it looks INCREDIBLE. I’ve shamelessly followed the stars on insta, and the pictures from the movie make my little heart flutter. Seriously, read this book before it hits theaters and everyone is trying to get their hands on it. The second book in the series is also beautiful. The third fell a tiny bit flat for me, but overall, it’s a cute way to wrap up the series.

So anyway, those were some of my best summer discoveries. Did you stumble upon anything you can’t live without this summer? Tell me about it! Especially if it’s a book. I’m always looking for book recommendations.

 

 

Leave a Reply

